About Belgium
Trade & Investment
Going to Belgium
Tourist Info
Schengen Visa
Resident Visa
Studying in Belgium
Belgians in Taiwan
Contact Us

Customs and taxes


Non-commercial goods belonging to your personal luggage are admitted tax-free within certain limits. For travellers coming from non-EU countries, the following allowances apply:

Tobacco products:
  Cigarettes 200 pieces
or Cigarillos 100 pieces
or Cigars 50 pieces
or Smoking tobacco 250 grams
Alcohol and alcoholic beverages:
  Non-sparkling wine 2 litres
either Spirits and alcoholic beverages of an alcoholic strength by volume exceeding 22% vol; undenatured ethyl alcohol of an alcoholic strength by volume of 80% vol or higher 1 litre
or Spirits and alcoholic beverages, aperitives with a basis of wine or of alcohol, tafia, saké or similar beverages of an alcoholic strength by volume not exceeding 22% vol; sparkling wines, liqueurs 2 litres
  The exemptions for Tobacco products and for Alcohol and alcoholic beverages are not granted to travellers aged less than 17 years.
  Perfume 50 grams
  Toilet-water 0.250 litres
  Coffee 500 grams
  Coffee extracts and Coffee essences 200 grams
  The exemptions for Coffee or Coffee extracts and Coffee essences are not granted to travellers aged less than 15 years.
  Tea 100 grams
  Tea extracts and Tea essences 40 grams
Other goods than those mentioned above: Total  maximum  value: 175 €

More info on allowances can be found on the Brussels Airport website.

VAT refund

If you are exporting goods bought in Belgium to a country outside the EU, you may be entitled to a VAT refund. More info on the Brussels Airport website.


  • VAT refund can be requested only by travellers who reside outside of the European Union and only for goods with no business or commercial nature.
  • The total value of the goods must exceed 125,- € (VAT included) per invoice.
  • The goods must be exported at the end of the third month following the one in which the delivery was made.
  • For goods of commercial nature, you should comply with the usual customs formalities.
  • For information call +32 2 753 29 20 (every day between 7 AM and 10 PM Belgian time).

The member states of the EU are:

Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Germany, Finland, France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Lativia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia.






Copyright © 1999-2005 Belgian Office Taipei
This page was last updated on Thursday November 25, 2004